What I’ve been reading

toastie
2 min readDec 6, 2020

--

This year has definitely been different compared to other years, however, my reading has pretty much stayed the same. I think that I have been able to maintain my reading, but still discover more books.

Categories that I ticked off:

  • Book written by a female author
  • A collection of short stories
  • A book set in the future
  • A book by a Melbourne Author
  • A book about or involving a sport
  • A collection of poetry
  • A fantasy Novel
  • A book recommended to me by a friend

This year, I read a few fantasy novels and quite enjoyed them. I finally decided to buy and read the Hunger Games Series, after years of it being recommended to me. I also read the Harry Potter script ‘the cursed child’, and I read a book called Warcross, and another book called Wildcard, which is the sequel.

What I have been able to gather from these books is that they are always just a normal fiction book with 1 extra step or modification. Whether there is magic involved, or there is a different lifestyle, or there are technological advancements, Fantasy Fiction books make me wonder what the future could be life.

Reading collections of Stories and Poems were quite interesting for me, and it was fresh to read not a singular story, but multiple (of course not talking about the poem book). Every time a story finished, something from a different perspective was available.

I read these two really interesting books, which were both consequentially about living life as a gay man, and I enjoyed these books. It made me stop and think about the similarities and often disappointing differences.

--

--